Inside the head of an enthusiastic KimboCare

AFFY’s editorial staff went to meet Mr. Franck TIAMBO, Risk Manager in an international firm based in Zurich and Co-founder of KimboCare. He shares with us with great pleasure his career path since his actuarial studies.

Franck Tiambo, Co-founder de KimboCare Source: KimboCare image

AFFY: Hello Mr. Franck TIAMBO. We are delighted that you have agreed to grant us this interview. Please, could you introduce yourself to our young readers as well as your academic background?

Franck: Hello dear readers, I am Franck, married and father of four children. I have an academic background as a polytechnic engineer in mathematics at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne, followed by an advanced master in actuarial/risk management at the Ecole Centrale de Lyon and at the ISFA. I did all my schooling until I was 21 years old in Cameroon, mainly at the Collège Jean Tabi and at the Adventist College during my secondary studies. Then, I obtained a DUT in accounting and management at the Catholic University of Central Africa.

AFFY: What motivated your choice of field of study?

Franck: My academic path closely follows my passion since the youngest age to be able to take care of the greatest number of patients. Since I was unable to become a doctor, my ambition was to be able to offer financial products to the poorest people so that they could afford quality care. Hence mathematics to learn the basics of logic and abstraction to present complex things simply, then actuarial science to understand all the risks underlying health insurance products.

AFFY: You work in the upper echelons of the Swiss financial world in one of the countries where the most important banks, financial institutions, and international organizations are located. What are your impressions of this type of company? Do you think it is a model to replicate in Africa?

Franck: High sphere is a bit of an exaggeration (lol). Being able to put the right people with the right tools allows to reinforce the market discipline and allows to reach the level of excellence and wealth generated by these institutions. Good governance remains a major issue for many African economies and the ability to use resources efficiently and honestly could be a way forward. This being said, in my opinion, it is not very productive to tropicalize the successes of elsewhere, we should instead build our own solutions from our problems, our culture, and especially our ancestral values that we must imperatively acquire again.

AFFY: You are also co-founder of KimboCare. What is it and what are its missions? What motivated you to launch this project?

Franck: KimboCare is a digital health solution that allows you to pay for medical care for someone who can’t afford it. Our main mission is to enable 30 million patients to have access to quality healthcare by 2030 in order to contribute to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. KimboCare comes from a personal story that my sister and I experienced when we were trying to pay for health care for our loved ones back home. We were confronted with a lack of transparency, no certainty that the money had been used entirely for health care, hence this lack of quality that endangered the life of a cousin, a friend, or a relative several times. Thanks to new technologies including Blockchain, artificial intelligence, and the internet of things, KimboCare has been able to leverage the high use of cell phones and the careful selection of quality medical facilities to bring this major innovation.

AFFY: What is your outlook for the next few years?

Franck: In only 14 effective months of operation in West Africa, KimboCare is among the top 25 startups innovating in digital health worldwide according to the famous incubator Galen Growth. The icing on the cake, KimboCare has implemented advanced techniques making it one of the 27 innovative startups in digital trust in Europe according to the Tech for Trust program of the Trust Valley in Geneva. The outlook is therefore very positive, but the road to achieving our goals is still steep and long. This is why we are urging all of the continent’s dynamic forces to contribute to the building, however small, it will have an impact. So you who are currently reading us, it will be a pleasure to find you on our social networks LinkedIn or Facebook. Don’t hesitate to create your free account in 30 seconds on app.kimbocare.com.

AFFY: How do you see the African continent and its youth?

Franck: There are only very positive elements to underline. We observe a real change of mentality where the youth of the continent begins to understand that a hamburger is only bread loaded with meat (lol), it begins to understand that with a valiant heart nothing is impossible, it begins to be master of its present and its future while mastering its pre-colonial or even pre-slavery origins. Values such as intergenerational and social solidarity or resource optimization will be pivotal values of global transformation over the next two decades, African youth has these values in its DNA and will be able to defend its interests alongside youth from other continents and increase its resources tenfold with the establishment of good partnerships / sustainable alliances.

AFFY: What advice would you give to a young African who has entrepreneurial aspirations but faces many obstacles (social, financial…)?

Franck: Have the will to solve crucial problems for the largest number of people around you with simple solutions adapted to the local context and culture. Listening actively, starting small, learning, and adapting quickly should be part of your credo as a young entrepreneur. Finally, building a community of people who are as enthusiastic as you are and ready to give you constructive feedback, will allow you to convince any bank, any public institution, or even an individual to invest in your project and your vision. One thing not to be neglected in this difficult health context is to make sure you stay healthy by adopting the appropriate preventive measures. Young entrepreneur and future actuary, I wish you excellent health in 2021 because the rest is only secondary.

AFFY: Thank you Mr. Franck Eric TIAMBO for giving us your time to do this interview.

Find the whole article on le blog AFFY

Dans la tête d’un KimboCare enthousiaste

La rédaction d’AFFY est allée à la rencontre de M. Franck TIAMBO, Risk Manager dans un cabinet international basé à Zurich et Co-founder de KimboCare. Il nous partage avec grand plaisir son parcours professionnel depuis ses études en actuariat.

Franck Tiambo, Co-founder de KimboCare Source: KimboCare image

AFFY: Bonjour M. Franck TIAMBO. Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez accepté de nous accorder cette interview. Svp, pouvez-vous vous présenter à nos jeunes lecteurs ainsi que votre parcours académique? 

Franck: Bonjour chers lecteurs, Je suis Franck, marié et père de quatre enfants. J’ai un parcours académique d’ingénieur polytechnicien en mathématiques à l’école polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne suivi d’un master avancé en actuariat / gestion des risques de l’école Centrale de Lyon et de L’ISFA. J’ai réalisé toute ma scolarité jusqu’à mes 21 ans au Cameroun principalement au Collège Jean Tabi et au collège Adventiste durant mes études secondaires. Ensuite, j’ai obtenu un DUT en comptabilité et gestion à l’Université Catholique d’Afrique Centrale. 

AFFY: Qu’est-ce qui a motivé votre choix de filière?

Franck: Mon parcours académique suit intimement ma passion depuis le plus jeune âge de pouvoir soigner le plus grand nombre de patients. N’ayant pas pu devenir médecin, j’ai eu pour ambition de pouvoir offrir des produits financiers aux plus démunis afin qu’ils puissent s’offrir des soins de qualité. D’où les mathématiques pour apprendre les fondements de la logique et l’abstraction pour présenter simplement des choses complexes, ensuite l’actuariat afin de comprendre tous les risques sous-jacents aux produits d’assurance maladie.

AFFY : Vous travaillez dans les hautes sphères du monde de la finance en Suisse dans l’un des pays où siègent les plus importantes banques, institutions financières et organisations internationales. Quelles sont vos impressions sur ce type de société? Pensez-vous que ce soit un modèle à répliquer en Afrique?

Franck: Hautes sphères, c’est un peu exagéré (lol). Être en mesure de mettre les bonnes personnes avec les bons outils permet de renforcer la discipline de marché et permet d’atteindre le niveau d’excellence et de richesse générés par ces institutions. La bonne gouvernance reste un enjeu majeur pour plusieurs économies africaines et la capacité de pouvoir utiliser de manière efficiente et honnête les ressources pourrait être des pistes envisageables. Ceci étant dit, à mon sens, cela est peu productif de tropicaliser les réussites d’ailleurs, il faudrait à contrario construire nos propres solutions à partir de nos problèmes, de notre culture et surtout de nos valeurs ancestrales qu’il faudra impérativement acquérir de nouveau.

AFFY: Vous êtes par ailleurs co-fondateur de KimboCare. De quoi s’agit-il et quelles sont ses missions ? Qu’est-ce qui vous a motivé à vous lancer dans ce projet?

Franck: KimboCare est une solution de santé numérique qui permet de payer les soins médicaux d’une personne qui n’a pas les moyens. Notre principale mission est de permettre à 30 millions de patients d’avoir accès à des soins de qualité à l’horizon 2030 afin d’apporter notre pierre à l’édifice aux objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies. KimboCare vient d’une histoire personnelle vécue par ma sœur et moi-même lorsque nous essayions de payer les soins de santé de nos proches restés sur le continent. Nous étions confrontés à un manque de transparence, aucune certitude que l’argent ait été utilisé intégralement pour la santé d’où ce manque de qualité qui a mis en danger plusieurs fois la vie d’un cousin, d’un ami ou d’un parent. Grâce aux nouvelles technologies notamment la Blockchain, l’intelligence artificielle et l’internet des objets, KimboCare a su s’appuyer sur la forte utilisation du téléphone portable et la sélection rigoureuse des structures médicales de qualité pour apporter cette innovation majeure.

AFFY: Quelles sont vos perspectives pour les prochaines années ?

Franck: En seulement 14 mois effectifs d’opération en Afrique de l’Ouest, KimboCare fait partie des 25 meilleures startups innovant dans la santé numérique au niveau mondial selon le célèbre incubateur Galen Growth. Cerise sur le gâteau, KimboCare a mis en place des techniques avancées faisant d’elle, l’une des 27 startups innovantes dans la confiance numérique en Europe selon le programme Tech for Trust de la Trust Valley à Genève. Les perspectives sont donc fort réjouissantes cependant la pente reste raide et la route longue avant de pouvoir parvenir à nos objectifs. C’est pour cela que l’on exhorte toutes les forces vives du continent à apporter leur pierre à l’édifice aussi petite soit elle, elle aura de l’impact. Donc toi qui nous lis actuellement, ce sera un plaisir de te retrouver sur nos réseaux sociaux LinkedIn ou Facebook. N’hésite pas également à créer ton compte gratuit en 30 secondes sur app.kimbocare.com.

AFFY: Quel regard portez-vous sur le continent africain et sa jeunesse ?

Franck: Il y a que des éléments très positifs à souligner. On observe un réel changement de mentalité où la jeunesse du continent commence à comprendre qu’un hamburger n’est qu’un pain chargé à la viande (lol), elle commence à comprendre qu’à cœur vaillant rien n’est impossible, elle commence à être maître de son présent et de son futur tout en maîtrisant ses origines pré-coloniales voire pré-esclavagistes. Les valeurs telles que la solidarité intergénérationnelle et sociale ou encore l’optimisation des ressources vont être des valeurs pivots de la transformation mondiale au cours des deux prochaines décennies, la jeunesse africaine possède ces valeurs dans son ADN et pourra aux côtés des jeunesses d’autres continents défendre aussi bien ses intérêts que décupler ses ressources avec l’établissement des bons partenariats / alliances durables.

AFFY: Quels conseils donneriez-vous à un jeune africain qui a des aspirations entrepreneuriales mais fait face à de nombreux obstacles (sociaux, financiers…)?

Franck: Avoir la volonté de résoudre des problèmes cruciaux pour le plus grand nombre de personnes autour de soi avec des solutions simples et adaptées au contexte et à la culture locale. Ecouter activement, commencer petit, apprendre et s’adapter vite devraient faire partie de ton crédo de jeune entrepreneur. Enfin, construire une communauté de personnes aussi enthousiastes que soi et prêtes à te donner des retours constructifs, te permettra de convaincre toute banque, toute institution publique ou même tout individu à investir dans ton projet et ta vision. Une chose à ne point négliger dans ce contexte sanitaire difficile et de faire en sorte de rester en bonne santé par l’adoption des mesures de prévention idoines. Jeune entrepreneur et futur actuaire, je te souhaite une excellente santé en 2021 car le reste n’est qu’accessoire.

AFFY : Merci M. Franck Eric TIAMBO de nous avoir accordé de votre temps pour réaliser cette interview.

Retrouvez l’intégralité de cet article sur le blog AFFY